Week 3: Bernini

The first task for this week’s tutorial was to name a creative person that you admire. After the lecturer announced this, I went to the toilet and when I got back it was already ‘times up’ ¯\_(ツ)_/¯. So from my trip from the girl’s bathroom back to the room, the first and only creative person that came to my mind was Bernini. I came across his works on Tumblr, and what caught my eyes was his sculpture called ‘The Rape of Proserpina’. I will focus more on his work rather than his life-story, mainly because I’m here for them sculptures and not for his drama.

The Rape of Proserpina. 1622

Bernini’s full name is Gian Lorenzo Bernini. He’s an Italian artist and architect, but mostly worked in Rome, from the Baroque period. His works were mainly paintings, sculptures, and architectures.”Bernini’s sculptures are recognizable for their engaging drama, dynamism, tension, texture, and naturalism.”(Artble, n.d.). One of my favorite trademark of Bernini in his sculptural works is how he’s able to convey soft skin out of stone. Furthermore, his attention to how light and darkness made his sculptures more realistic and dramatic. His works are mostly about the Catholic religion, as Baroque is closely tied with “religious and political of 16th and 17th century Italy” (Artble, n.d.).

Bernini’s work, ‘The Rape of Proserpina’, was created when he was only 23 years old, and was made between 1621-1622. As you can see from the image above, his carefully detailed work of human anatomy creates shadows and highlights, which is just mind-blowing to me. The suppleness of Proserpina’s skin was also made believable through his detailed planning of lighting and how he can use it to create this impression.

Additionally, how he creates and conveys fabric creases and textures arealso notable. His sculpture, ‘ The Ecstacy of St. Teresa of Avila’ was inspired by St. Teresa’s spiritual visions. It exhibits his craftsmanship when it comes to cloths and different textures. Furthermore, dynamics also plays a part of his works. We can see a contrast between the cloths of St. Teresa and the angel, with the former being softer, and the latter having more angular creases. In the past, I have never really cared about sculptures or took the time to admire the ones I have seen. But because of Bernini, I am now fond of sculptures, and going to Rome is now in my ‘to do before I die’ list.

Ecstasy of Saint Teresa, 1651

I’d also like to include some of my favorite contemporary creative people.

Gabriel García Román
Gabriel combines his photography and printmaking techniques to create colorful portrait pieces. What I really love about him and his works are that the textures ,shapes,and colors are mostly done traditionally instead of computers. His series Queer Icons is definitely one of my favorite works of his.

ryanmonsod.tumblr.com/
I have no idea what he does or where he works, but his fashion illustration are my current goals!!!

agnescecile
I’ve been a fan for over a year now, she was the reason why I decided to try watercolors. I love her color palettes, and how she conveys expressions in her works.

Amy Hamilton
Another person who has a great sense of color combination! I also love how she uses a bit of grunge effect in her works. Plus, her illustrations of animals are A+++

Reference:

Artble,. Gian Lorenzo Bernini Style and Technique. Retrieved 16 August 2015, from http://www.artble.com/artists/gian_lorenzo_bernini/more_information/style_and_technique

Bernini, G. L. (1622). The Rape of Proserpina [Online image]. Retrieved from http://thesecondachilles.com/2013/12/01/the-rape-of-proserpina-by-bernini/

Bernini, G. L. (1622). The Rape of Proserpina [Online image]. Retrieved from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:The_Rape_of_Proserpina_2_-_Bernini_-_1622_-_Galleria_Borghese,_Rome.jpg

Bernini, G. L. (1622).Ecstasy of Saint Teresa, 1651 [Online image]. Retrieved from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gian_Lorenzo_Bernini#/media/File:Rom,_Santa_Maria_della_Vittoria,_Die_Verz%C3%BCckung_der_Heiligen_Theresa_(Bernini).jpg

Leave a Reply

