Project Update #1 : Problems and Progress

So… I was so sure that once I found the perfect poses (through watching their traditional dances), I would be able to start drawing. But, turns out, I still needed a high quality image version of the pose so I can see the details to help me create an anatomically correct human figure. The youtube video was too blurry, and was shot on an angle that was different from what I wanted to illustrate. Thankfully, my friend was (kind of) willing to model for me, in exchange for some food, to recreate the dance poses in the angle I wanted.

Pattern plays a big role in  Art Nouveau, it’s essentially one of its trademark. But since I want to experiment, I’ve decided to do it my way instead of copying the exact same style of Art Nouveau’s very elaborate patterns used to frame its subject.  I’ve chosen to illustrate multiple environmental motifs, which has connection to the chosen ethnic group, as a tool to frame the subject. So, it’s basically some medium sized illustrations of two or more flowers, leaves, trees, etc. that goes around the layout to frame the subject, as opposed to Art Nouveau’s little detailed patterns. Although, I did include a minor detailed pattern though. You can look at the screen caps below if that didn’t make sense..

I’ve also been obsessing with lines and I’ve just been using lines to make the flowers, leaves, etc look interesting and detailed. And I really love how it works well with color harmonies as well.

For my drawing process, I usually take screen caps in different stages of the illustration so I can see the progress. It inspires me and makes me proud of myself because I’ve created something out of circles and squares. But since problems keep on arising whenever I start a part of the drawing, I’ve only been able to take around one or two screen caps.

I’ve already finished two( I won’t be posting the final piece until the submission date), and I’m hoping I can take more screen caps when I start my third illustration.

Here are some of the screen cap progress of my first illustration

Screen Shot 2015-10-16 at 4.40.53 PMScreen Shot 2015-10-16 at 4.41.38 PM

Screen Shot 2015-10-16 at 4.44.00 PMScreen Shot 2015-10-16 at 4.43.36 PMScreen Shot 2015-10-16 at 4.51.10 PM

Leave a Reply

